Guiseley intro: injury troubles and clean sheet obsessions

This could be the first of many updates on my FM game, or it could be one of only a few before I tire of being unable to keep clean sheets or get fed up of Accrington reserve players turning down loan moves to Guiseley.

So yes, this is my Guiseley game on FM12, which I started bloody ages ago. In fact, I started it on the FM12 demo and then transferred it once the full version was released. For some bizarre reason, which even I don’t know, I got them joint top of the Conference North after about 15 league games and then didn’t play on it for months. Part of me thinks I may have got distracted by buying a house.

Anyway, now I’m nearing the end of my first season. I’ve just had a proper good session on it tonight, during which I’ve won a few crucial games and pretty much cemented my place in the play-offs. Currently I’m eight points behind runaway leaders Histon, while I’m 12 points ahead of Workington who lurk just outside the play-offs.

Although I’m happy to have won six of my last eight games (before which I was fifth and clinging onto the last play-off slot), my team is going through its worse injury crisis of the season. The first game after I gave a new contract to Danny Boshell, he put himself out for five months. Dave Merris, who has been pretty good in a number of positions this season despite having relatively shit attributes, is also out for a few weeks. James Booker, who’s got seven goals in 18 starts from right midfield, is also out for the rest of the season. I never thought I’d say this but thank God for Simon Baldry. He’s old, he’s not scored or even got an assist this season, but he plays in just about every position ever invented so he’s proved useful cover in a small squad.

It’s perhaps surprising that I’ve got this far without mentioning the name Ade Akinbiyi. He might be 37 years of age, but he’s grabbed 10 goals for me this season after I signed him on a free transfer in September. He might not be fit enough to start most games but I was just delighted that a ‘name’ like him actually wanted to sign for Guiseley in the first place. I did go in for ‘England international’ Michael Ricketts, but he chose Cambridge instead. The bastard.

Sometimes I don’t know when to leave Football Manager and go to bed, but occasionally the decision is made for me. Take tonight, for example. Despite being second and having the tightest defence in the league, I had gone 10 games without keeping a clean sheet. My last match of tonight’s spell was at home against Nuneaton, who were third. I’d actually beaten them 4-1 in the reverse fixture, which I still regard as my best of the season (it’s their only home defeat to date). An early goal from Gavin Rothery and two from Akinbiyi helped me to a 3-0 win – and crucially record an all important clean sheet (which I tend to obsess over).

So as you can imagine, now is as good a time as any to leave it there and come back to tackle the five remaining league games another day.

Leave a Reply

